a southeast asia study abroad trip: arrival in singapore

Saturday, January 5:  In January of 2008, I went on a study-abroad trip to Southeast Asia.  It was part of my Master’s degree program in International Commerce & Policy at George Mason UniversitySingapore was our first stop.  After about 5 days in Singapore, we went to Phuket, Thailand for a weekend and then on to Bangkok.

When I returned from our trip, we had to write a paper about our impressions of Singapore and another on impressions of Thailand.  It’s a good thing I was assigned to write this paper, otherwise I wouldn’t remember anything as I didn’t keep a journal.

Arrival at Singapore Changi Airport

Arrival at Singapore Changi Airport

I arrived safely in Singapore and got to the Orchard Parade Hotel at 2 a.m. Saturday.  I waited in the airport for one of my classmates,  Juliana, for a long time, but I wasn’t sure if she had already arrived and taxied to the hotel alone.  Finally, I just caught a taxi myself.  She arrived there around 3 a.m.!

On Saturday morning, Juliana and I got up and had breakfast at a coffee shop then took the open air Hippo bus tour.  We saw Little India, Little China, Arab St. and various other things.  After we finished, we said, well, I guess we’ve seen all of Singapore.  Now what?
It’s pristine, well-developed, and quite characterless.  This is what I imagine Hong Kong must be like.  I didn’t think I would be impressed, and I wasn’t.  It’s like the high-class shopping district of any American city.  A melting pot of different nationalities, yet everyone speaks English.  There are way too many American businesses to suit me.  I frankly don’t see the appeal.
Juliana at an outdoor cafe

Juliana at an outdoor cafe

Orchard Hotel

Orchard Parade Hotel

In the evening, Juliana and I walked down Orchard Road to find an indoor, air-conditioned, restaurant.  We walked for blocks and only saw a few outdoor cafes, steamy and uninviting in the soggy heat.  There appeared to be no relief from the damp warmth!  We finally found a Meze bar, described on the window-front as “Asian tapas.”  My experience of meze is usually Lebanese tapas.  At this ultra-modern lounge, we paid 15 Singapore dollars ($12.13) for a Tiger beer.  We shared a plate of delicious Dim Sum dumplings.

Juliana at the Meze bar

Juliana at the Meze bar

Juliana and me with frizzy, soggy hair

Juliana and me with frizzy, soggy hair

We were sorely disappointed in the shortage of places to stop in for a drink or food.  We saw hordes of young people walking the streets, but what were they doing?  There seemed absolutely nothing to do but shop!  And at this hour of the night, 10 p.m., the stores were closed.  Juliana got some relief from the heat by ordering a square slice of ice cream slapped between two wafers, made directly from a vendor’s cart.

a square of ice cream to cool us off

a square of ice cream to cool us off

Categories: Arlington, Asia, George Mason University, International Commerce & Policy, Orchard Parade Hotel, Orchard Road, School of Public Policy, Singapore | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love hear your comments & start a conversation! :-)

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

A Faraway Home

Stories and tips from home and far away

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

