from singapore to phuket, thailand

Friday, January 11:  This morning, we leave Singapore and fly to Phuket, Thailand, where we have the weekend to relax before our new round of lectures begins Monday morning in Bangkok.

the view of Singapore from my hotel room window

the view of Singapore from my hotel room window

me and Ryan, waiting to leave Singapore

me and Ryan, waiting to leave Singapore

Johanna, all dressed up and ready for Thailand

Johanna, all dressed up and ready for Thailand

We fly to the airport in Phuket and drive to our hotel,  the Club Andaman Beach Resort, in town.

flying into Phuket

flying into Phuket

getting closer to Phuket

getting closer to Phuket

Arrival at the airport in Phuket, Thailand

Arrival at the airport in Phuket, Thailand

Road signs in Phuket

Road signs in Phuket

view of Phuket from the bus window

view of Phuket from the bus window

Phuket is a bustling town on Patong Bay in the south of Thailand.  I see no visible signs of the tsunami that devastated the town in December 2004.  It seems to be business as usual, although I must admit I don’t know what it was like before the tsunami. Christmas lights and New Year’s decorations are still up throughout the town, reminding us of what we’ve left behind in the U.S.

At Club Andaman Beach Resort, we are greeted by a charming Thai woman in a green dress, serving lime green drinks of guava juice.  The club is lovely, with an open air lobby and teak walls.  Another Thai woman sits cross-legged on a platform playing a tranquil melody on a musical instrument of some kind.  The grounds of the Club are impossibly green and beautifully manicured.

The resort includes Thai style cottages and a high-rise, white, concrete building. The Thai style village cottages are more basic than the rooms, overlooking 15 acres of landscaped tropical gardens and pools as well as a nice pond.  Our room is in one of the Thai-style cottages.

The resort is located near the famous Patong Beach, but not on the beachfront.  Patong Beach offers nightlife, as well as a range of restaurants and shops (ebookers.com: Club Andaman Beach Resort).

Drinks, anyone?

Drinks, anyone?

We go soon after to settle into our rooms (agoda: Club Andaman Beach Resort).

A room I share with Johanna

A room I share with Johanna

our rooms at the hotel

our rooms at the hotel

the other high rise rooms in the hotel, surrounding the cottages

the other high rise rooms in the hotel, surrounding the cottages

the grounds of the hotel in Phuket

the grounds of the hotel in Phuket

Thai music performance in the hotel

Thai music performance in the hotel

We head out to explore the streets of Phuket.  Motorbikes are everywhere in Phuket: a very cheap mode of transportation for the poorer population.

the streets of Phuket

the streets of Phuket

A number of us walk down the main street from the Club and pick out a sidewalk restaurant that has photos of the food posted on a billboard.  I order tiger prawns and asparagus; I’m able to pick out the number and sizes of the fresh prawns for them to cook.  The food is delicious.  I order a Tiger beer; it is much less expensive than the 15 Singapore dollars I paid at the Meze Bar in that city.

dinner at a fresh fish restaurant along the street in Phuket: Johanna, Luz, ??, Juliana and ??

dinner at a fresh fish restaurant along the street in Phuket: Johanna, Luz, ??, Jennifer, Juliana and ??

me with my tasty dish of fresh fish

me with my tasty dish of tiger prawns and asparagus

We find a six-person taxi cab, open air with two bench seats facing each other.  It’s like a motorized stagecoach.  We take it down to the open air markets, where there are Buddha faces and figures, teak elephants and vases, purses made of Thai silk with gold threads in elephant patterns.  Sarongs, cheap bags, shoes, and camouflage shorts are all the rage.  At each shop, a girl or young man calls out softly, “Madam.  Madam!  You want look?”

Luz, ??, and Johanna in a tuk-tuk in Phuket

Luz, ??, and Johanna in a tuk-tuk in Phuket

a little bar at a night market in Phuket

a little bar at a night market in Phuket

Categories: Asia, Club Andaman Beach Resort, Patong Beach, Phuket, Singapore, Thailand | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “from singapore to phuket, thailand

  1. As an experiment, I googled hotel phuket highrise cottages, went to images, and I think I found your hotel. Is this it? http://www.ebookers.com/hotels/Thailand/Phuket/Club_Andaman_Beach_Resort.h198572/#mapAndAreaInfo

    • You are the best, Anne Thomas!! You are absolutely right! It’s so great when I can rely on my readers to tell me information that I have forgotten. I’m trying to recreate this trip from over 5 years ago, and believe me, my memory is failing me in too many ways to count. This was back before I kept a journal and I don’t think I wrote down much about this trip at all. The only thing I have are the syllabus, which wasn’t very detailed, and my pathetic pictures. Thank goodness my photography has improved in recent years because these leave a lot to be desired.

      People from my study abroad trip have also set me straight on a few things. Thank goodness for friends. 🙂

I'd love hear your comments & start a conversation! :-)

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

A Faraway Home

Stories and tips from home and far away

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

