last day in bangkok: chatuchak weekend market & the bamboo bar at the mandarin oriental

Sunday, January 20:  This morning, my last morning in Thailand, I take the sky train to Mo Chit station, take exit #1, and head to the Chatuchak Weekend Market to do some shopping.

The 35-acre area of Chatuchak is home to more than 8,000 market stalls. On a typical weekend, more than 200,000 visitors come here to sift through the goods on offer. (Bangkok.com: Chatuchak Market)

Today, I’m one of the hordes of tourists and I am overwhelmed.  This is a HUGE market with labyrinthine pathways leading in every imaginable direction.  There are so many things I want to buy here, and of course it’s not humanly possible to buy, and carry back, all the things I want.  Everything imaginable is for sale here, from clothing to handicrafts to ceramics to furniture to art, books and antiques.  I find lanterns and Buddha statues and gold jewelry.  Textiles abound.  I spend quite a bit of money here today, and I come away with big bags filled with all manner of goodies.  Sadly, I’m too busy shopping to take many pictures. 😦

Street musicians at the Chatuchak Weekend Market

Street musicians at the Chatuchak Weekend Market

Chatuchak Weekend Market

Chatuchak Weekend Market

I head back to the hotel to drop off all my goods.  While there, I shower and relax a bit before heading out for dinner.

my goods from the Chatuchak market, in my hotel room

my goods from the Chatuchak market, in my hotel room

me in relaxation mode, and happy with all my purchases

me in relaxation mode, and happy with all my purchases

I head out for a drink and a light meal at the famous Bamboo Bar at the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok.  One critic calls it “a speakeasy in the jungle” and the owners describe it as an African safari lodge.   The furniture is decked out in animal prints or leather on dark wood floors, with bamboo and palm fronds abounding.  I sit at an outdoor table and enjoy a martini and a light dinner (Mandarin Oriental Bangkok: Bamboo Bar).

me at the Bamboo Bar at the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok

me at the Bamboo Bar at the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok

I head back to the hotel early because I fly out early tomorrow morning, back to the USA.  There, I will continue the last semester of studies for my Master’s degree in International Commerce & Policy at George Mason University.

Monday, January 21:  I fly out of Bangkok, heading by way of Tokyo, back to Washington.  It’s a long, long flight.

Leaving Bangkok

Leaving Bangkok

Goodbye Thailand!

Goodbye Thailand!

Fare thee well. :-)

Fare thee well. 🙂

Going, going, gone....

Going, going, gone….

ลาก่อน  (lā k̀xn) = “goodbye” in Thai
Categories: Asia, Bamboo Bar, Bangkok, Chatuchak Weekend Market, Mandarin Oriental Bangkok, Thailand | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love hear your comments & start a conversation! :-)

Romancing Reality

Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Jill's Scene

A small town take on the big, wide world

eatprayjade.wordpress.com/

eating and traveling in pursuit of la dolce vita

Japan Wonders

Exploring Japan's popular tourist spots and off-the-beaten path

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

