a bicycle ride to red mountain estate vineyards & winery

Sunday, February 22:  After leaving the Nigyawdayan Stupa, I pedal up the main two lane highway along the northeast side of Inle Lake.  I don’t have any views of the lake at this point; I’m on my way to the Red Mountain Estate Vineyards & Winery and I enjoy the breeze on this warm day and the views of the mountains and farmland.

on the road to Red Mountain Winery

on the road to Red Mountain Winery

on the road to Red Mountain Winery

on the road to Red Mountain Winery

I’m not exactly sure where I’m going and it seems quite a long ride out into the middle of nowhere.  Finally, I come upon a road veering to the left with a sign for the winery.  It looks like I’m going to reach my destination after all!

the end is in sight!

the end is in sight!

I can see the winery up on a hill quite a way ahead, and I pedal hard to climb the hill, passing by some homes along the way.

through the neighborhood

through the neighborhood

house outside of Nyaungshwe

house outside of Nyaungshwe

The Red Mountain Estate was started in 2002.  The estate was chosen for its special micro-climate, cool nights and sunny days during the fruit cycle.  The goal was to produce high quality wines 100% made in Myanmar and supervised by French and Australian experts.  The vineyard is planted with red varieties such as Syrah, Pinot Noir, Cabernet Sauvignon, Tempranillo, Carignan, and Malbec.  White varieties are Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Chenin and Colombard.  All vines were imported from France, Spain and Israel, according to a pamphlet from the winery.

I continue up the hill on my bicycle, keeping the winery in sight.

farms and mountains

farms and mountains

The hill gets quite steep as I approach the winery, and I see some people have left bicycles at the bottom of the hill.  I follow suit and lock up my bike beside the others.

vineyards at Red Mountain Winery

vineyards at Red Mountain Winery

Red Mountain Winery

Red Mountain Winery

up the steps to Red Mountain Winery

up the steps to Red Mountain Winery

After walking up to the winery, I go inside, where it’s quite crowded and noisy.  I order a flight of wines and ask for it to be served on the terrace.  It’s a lot quieter, though quite hot, outside.  It has a lazy and relaxed atmosphere.

I sit and enjoy the view and my wine flight.  Since I’m on my own, I take some selfies; they’re from some strange angles. 🙂  Here I enjoy my wine, although I’m a little jealous of the people who are here with friends.  Though most of the time I don’t mind traveling alone, there are times like these when I wish I had a friend along.

Cheers!

Cheers!

my view

my view

tourists relaxing at the winery

tourists relaxing at the winery

happy in Myanmar

happy in Myanmar

I do ask the waiter to take a picture of me, so I do get one decent photo.  I’m feeling pretty good after drinking the whole flight!

me at Red Mountain Estate Winery

me at Red Mountain Estate Winery

After finishing my flight of wines, I also order a glass of Shiraz-Tempranillo accompanied by toast with cheese; it is simply white bread cut into triangles with sliced cheese cut into triangles.  Nothing to write home about, especially after that wonderful pancake I had at Pancake Kingdom.

By this time, I’m feeling pretty relaxed. 🙂  I wander around the vineyard taking some pictures, then walk back down the hill to where I left my bicycle.

vineyards

vineyards

vineyards

vineyards

leaving the vineyard

leaving the vineyard

I unlock my bicycle, take some parting shots of the winery, and hop back on for the long ride back to town.

parting views

parting views

I stop at several spots along the way that are particularly bucolic.

fields along the way

fields along the way

pastoral view

pastoral view

stupa

stupa

pastoral view

pastoral view

construction

construction

When I finally get back to town, I make a stop at Yadana Man Aung Paya, where I find a nice surprise!

Categories: Asia, Myanmar, Nyaungshwe, Red Mountain Estate Vineyards & Winery, Shan State | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “a bicycle ride to red mountain estate vineyards & winery

  1. What a beautiful day, well worth the ride – I’d still rather go by car though, I wouldn’t last long on a bike 🙂

I'd love hear your comments & start a conversation! :-)

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

A Faraway Home

Stories and tips from home and far away

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

