an afternoon in nyaungshwe & a surprise encounter to top off the day :-)

Sunday, February 22:  I whiz back into Nyaungshwe on my bicycle, feeling pretty good after the flight of wines at Red Mountain Vineyard.  Although it took me a while to find my way TO the winery, I was able to remember the route back quite easily, despite feeling a bit loopy. 🙂  Earlier, I had seen the Yadana Man Aung Paya not far from my hotel, so I lock my bicycle at the entrance and go in to wander about.  There, much to my surprise, I run into Sunoko, the Japanese lady from Shanghai who I met in Bagan, the one who was struggling mightily with her e-bike, just as I had.  Although Myanmar is a small country, and the tourist route is quite similar for all tourists, I’m still surprised that I should run into her here at Nyaungshwe, a plane flight or a long bus ride away from where I met her in Bagan.  It turned out she met a group of young people in Bagan and took the bus with them to Inle Lake.  We chat for a while and then arrange to have dinner together tonight at 7:30 at Everest Nepali Food.

Yadana Man Aung Paya

Yadana Man Aung Paya

Yadana Man Aung Paya, a pretty gilded stupa south of the Mingala Market, is the oldest and most important Buddhist shrine in Nyaungshwe.

Yadana Man Aung Paya

Yadana Man Aung Paya

Yadana Man Aung Paya

Yadana Man Aung Paya

The pavilion on the grounds contains treasures collected by monks over the centuries, including lacquerware, carvings, and dance costumes.

Yadana Man Aung Paya

Yadana Man Aung Paya

The stepped stupa is unique in Myanmar.

Yadana Man Aung Paya

Yadana Man Aung Paya

Yadana Man Aung Paya

Yadana Man Aung Paya

Nyaungshwe is the main access point for Inle Lake; it sits at the lake’s north end.  After exploring the pagoda, I walk along the canal and watch the bustle and buzz of the famous long-tail motorboats.

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

I love places like this that are a bit scruffy, but colorful and bustling.

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

looking down on the boat

looking down on the boat

busy canal

busy canal

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

boats in Nyaungshwe

I go back to the Inle Apex Hotel to relax.  After a while, I go out to find Everest, where I’m meeting Sunoko. I arrive before she does, so I sit at a table and order a Myanmar beer.

Everest

Everest

When Sunoko arrives, she orders a beer too.  We both order some Paneer Curry that is delicious!  She tells me she’s 35 and really wants a boyfriend. She tells me about a German guy she really likes, but he seems to only think of her as a friend.  I tell her my daughter has been caught up on a guy she’s known since high school; she’s experiencing the same situation.  Unrequited love is the worst!

Paneer Curry at Everest

Paneer Curry at Everest

After dinner, I go back to my room to get a good night’s sleep before a dawn departure for my all-day boat ride around Inle Lake. I’m exhausted since I’ve been up and going since 4:30 this morning, when I left Bagan.  I’m excited to explore this beautiful lake I’ve heard so much about. 🙂

 

Categories: Asia, Everest Nepali Food, Inle Lake, Myanmar, Nyaungshwe, Shan State, Yadana Man Aung Paya | Tags: , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “an afternoon in nyaungshwe & a surprise encounter to top off the day :-)

  1. Amazing to bump into Sunoko! I agree about places that are a bit worn and lived in, they have far more soul than pristine, manicured places 🙂

    • I was so surprised to run into Sunoko and it was nice to have a dinner companion for that evening. We both are attracted to those scruffy places, then, Gilly. Nice to find someone else who shares my attraction for those sorts of places. 🙂

  2. What amazing colours in the temples.

  3. I’m trying hard to remember whose blog took me to Inle Lake recently, Cathy! While I was doing a heap of ironing today I had on TV Michael Wood’s documentary series on China. The history is totally fascinating. I thought of you, of course. 🙂

  4. Nyaungshwe looks like a bustling and intriguing place. And you captured its life beautifully in these images.

I'd love hear your comments & start a conversation! :-)

Romancing Reality

Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Jill's Scene

A small town take on the big, wide world

eatprayjade.wordpress.com/

eating and traveling in pursuit of la dolce vita

Japan Wonders

Exploring Japan's popular tourist spots and off-the-beaten path

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

