the southern villages of inle lake

Monday, February 23:  After leaving Jumping Cat Monastery, we get back in the boat and head south into the villages on Inle Lake.  At this point, it’s 9:50 a.m.  We’ve already covered a lot of the lake and floating gardens, the 5-day rotating market, and the Monastery.

I love cruising around on this beautiful lake, with the cool breeze weaving its way over the lake surface from the surrounding mountains, and the charming views of floating gardens, fishermen, gardeners, locals and tourists.

Inle Lake's floating gardens

Inle Lake’s floating gardens

We spend the next two hours floating through the stilt villages among more floating gardens.  This southern end is such a quaint part of the lake.

Scenes along Inle Lake

Scenes along Inle Lake

floating gardens

floating gardens

floating gardens of Inle Lake

floating gardens of Inle Lake

stilt houses and gardens

stilt houses and gardens

villages and gardens

villages and gardens

idyllic scenes

idyllic scenes

villages

villages

red house

red house

waterways

waterways

waterways in villages

waterways in villages

plying the waters

plying the waters

village views

village views

in the village

in the village

laundry

laundry

in the village

in the village

green reflections

green reflections

gated community

gated community

floating gardens

floating gardens

farmers doing their thing

farmers doing their thing

villages of Inle Lake

villages of Inle Lake

reflections

reflections

temple

temple

reflections

reflections

Burmese boatman

Burmese boatman

more villages

more villages

The peaceful village of Nam Pan is built on stilts over the water.

the water highway

the water highway

Nam Pan’s main temple is Alodaw Pauk Pagoda, one of the oldest shrines on the lake.

pagoda

pagoda

village life

village life

village life

village life

Inle Lake

Inle Lake

The tidy village of In Paw Khone is famous for its weaving workshops and teak stilt houses.

Inle Lake

Inle Lake

Of course, we have to stop at a weaving workshop.  Unable to resist my craving for textiles, I buy two lotus & silk scarves and a longyi.  The longyi has to be made, so while I wait for it, I sit out on the patio and enjoy a cool lime drink.

Weaving workshop in Phaw Khone

Weaving workshop in Phaw Khone

Weaver

Weaver

After the weaving workshop, we start making our way back north.

village life

village life

boaters in the village

boaters in the village

restaurant on Inle Lake

Golden Kite Restaurant

village houses

village houses

blue on the lake

blue on the lake

Inle Lake village

Inle Lake village

village on the lake

village on the lake

houses in a row

houses in a row

water roads

water roads

colorful laundry

colorful laundry

Burmese children on Inle Lake

Burmese children on Inle Lake

lakefront property

lakefront property

We pull up to the Eyeful Lake Restaurant at 11:50 a.m., just in time for lunch! 🙂  After lunch, we’ll continue our northerly cruise to Nyaungshwe.

Categories: Asia, In Paw Khone, Inle Lake, Myanmar, Nam Pan, Shan State, Travel | Tags: , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “the southern villages of inle lake

  1. Beautiful way to start a Sunday morning, with a coffee, some good toast, and a new blog!

    So wish you had taken photos of your purchases!!! I cannot remember what a “longi” is!!

    Have a good day!!!!!

    • Aw, you are the sweetest. I always feel such happiness that you enjoy my blogs! I should have taken photos of my purchases. Of course, I do still have them. I should do it! Have a good week! 🙂

  2. It’s so beautiful, I wonder what it’s like to live there, are there mosquitos?

    • I’m so glad you think so, Gilly. Of course I was there in February, so I didn’t notice mosquitoes. But I can imagine those pesky things are there in summer and during the rainy season. 🙂

  3. A really beautiful post, Cathy. 🙂 Bags me the red house! Or maybe the one with the laundry would do? I can’t really imagine living there, can you? It’s slightly surreal. The reflections are wonderful. I’d get nothing done 🙂 Nothing new there then!

    • I’m so glad you like the pictures, Jo. You know how much I loved Myanmar, and it’s so fun to go through my pictures now, over a year later. I can’t really imagine living here either, but it might be interesting. It is so beautiful. I loved the red house picture too, and I always love laundry in foreign lands. Thanks so much for checking out my posts on this blog. Not many people do! 🙂

I'd love hear your comments & start a conversation! :-)

Romancing Reality

Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Jill's Scene

A small town take on the big, wide world

eatprayjade.wordpress.com/

eating and traveling in pursuit of la dolce vita

Japan Wonders

Exploring Japan's popular tourist spots and off-the-beaten path

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

