the drive back from mount popa to bagan

Saturday, February 21:  After I meet up with my driver, we begin the long drive back to Bagan.  Along the way, we pass this shrine, a kind of deserted amusement park, that offers some nice views of Mount Popa.

Looking back at Mt. Popa from a shrine along the way

Looking back at Mt. Popa from a shrine along the way

entrance to a roadside shrine

entrance to a roadside shrine

My driver waits by the car as I wander around taking pictures.  Not another soul is here, so it feels as if I have this whole exotic world to myself.

elephant at the shrine

elephant at the shrine

nats

nats

I’m glad to get some views of Mount Popa as I’m leaving it behind, although I’m sadly facing into the sun for pictures.

Mount Popa from a distance

Mount Popa from a distance

Buddha and Mount Popa

Buddha and Mount Popa

elephant

elephant

elephant and nat

elephant and nat

offering prayers

offering prayers

I don’t stay here long as my driver is waiting.   We drive some distance and stop briefly in this town where I end up buying some strawberries and an orange soda.  I am thirsty and my throat is dry from all the dust, so the orange soda is a welcome relief. It’s about 1:20 in the afternoon and it will likely be another hour before we get to Bagan.  I’m hungry for lunch really, but I don’t see any restaurants and I’d really like to eat someplace in New Bagan before going out to explore on this, my last day in Bagan.

market in a town between Mount Popa and Bagan

market in a town between Mount Popa and Bagan

market

market

market

market

market

market

market in a small town

market in a small town

market along the way

market along the way

strawberries

strawberries

Burmese ladies selling strawberries

Burmese ladies selling strawberries

As we’re driving back, we see these ladies carrying bundles of sticks along the road.  I stop to take pictures, giving them some money for allowing me to take their photos.

ladies carrying bundles of sticks

ladies carrying bundles of sticks

Burmese ladies at work

Burmese ladies at work

Burmese ladies

Burmese ladies

By the time we arrive back in New Bagan, it’s about 2:15.  As soon as I arrive at my hotel, I rent an e-bike from the front desk and take off to explore the last bits of this ancient place that I’ve come to love.

Categories: Asia, Bagan, Burma, Mount Popa, Myanmar, nats, New Bagan, Taung Kalat, Taung Kalat Monastery, Travel | Tags: , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “the drive back from mount popa to bagan

  1. Well I wasn’t expecting strawberries!

  2. I’ll have some please 🙂 🙂 Silly me- I was worrying about the white paint on the elephant- until I realised it wasn’t real but a sculpture! Love the Buddha shot with Mount Popa in the background, Cathy. I say it again- strange place!

  3. So much delicious fruit. Do you have any problem eating the strawberries unwashed?

I'd love hear your comments & start a conversation! :-)

Fairfax County Emergency Information

Official Fairfax County Government Emergency Preparedness, Response and Recovery Website

~ wander.essence ~

where travel meets art

SterVens' Tales

~~~In Case You Didn't Know, I Talk 2 Myself~~~

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Cornwall in Colours

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

Slovenian Girl Abroad

A blog about travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

FabFourBlog

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond