leaving inle lake: a brief stop in nyaungshwe at shwe yaunghwe kyaung

Wednesday, February 25:  This is a sad morning, as I leave the Inle Lake area at 9 a.m. for Yangon, my final destination in Myanmar. My plane actually doesn’t depart Heho airport until 5:00 p.m., but I’ve arranged a driver to take me to Pindaya for the day and then directly to the airport.

On the way out of Nyaungshwe, the driver stops at what is considered the most photographed monastery in Nyaungshwe: Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung.  With its ancient teak ordination hall, or thein, and its oval windows offering a peek at the novice monks, it’s quite charming.

entrance to Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung

entrance to Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung

I pay the driver 55,000 kyat (around $55) to take me for the entire day.

Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung

Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung

a monk at Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung

a monk at Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung

little monks at Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung

little monks at Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung

monks & cats

monks & cats

Buddha at Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung

Buddha at Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung

monks studying

monks studying

monks in sunlight ovals

monks in sunlight ovals

monks in the doorway

monks in the doorway

Buddha at Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung

Buddha at Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung

the oval windows of Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung

the oval windows of Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung

After walking around this ancient monastery, I get in the car with the driver.   The hotel has estimated it will take 2 1/2 hours to get to Pindaya, and then 1 1/2 hours from Pindaya to Heho Airport.  It actually only takes two hours to get to Pindaya, and we pass Heho Airport after the first hour, meaning it will take only 1 hour to get back to Heho.  On our drive, we pass through one of the most densely farmed areas in Myanmar, with a patchwork of dried fields and red clay.  We pass an umbrella-making factory and a cattle market.  There isn’t that much to see on the drive.  For some reason, the driver’s steering wheel is on the right and in Myanmar, cars drive on the right; this makes it hard for the driver to see around cars in front of him to pass. During the long drive, where there seem to be no facilities whatsoever, I have to ask the driver to pull over at one point so I can pee behind a tree.  It’s pretty embarrassing because a few cars drive by, and the tree isn’t big enough that it totally hides me.  Oh well, this is life in the 3rd world.   I’m sure people do this all the time out here in the middle of nowhere.

At 11:00, we arrive at our destination, the famous Shwe Oo Min Natural Cave Pagoda, a massive limestone cave brimming with thousands of gilded Buddha statues.

Categories: Asia, Burma, Heho Airport, Myanmar, Nyaungshwe, Pindaya, Shan State, Shwe Oo Min Natural Cave Pagoda, Shwe Yaunghwe Kyaung, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “leaving inle lake: a brief stop in nyaungshwe at shwe yaunghwe kyaung

  1. A girl’s got to do what a girl’s got to do!

  2. I loved the cat just basking in the sunshine as the monks studied!

  3. No matter how many times I see these photos of the daily lives of monks it makes me smile, Cathy. I tactfully averted my gaze for you 🙂 🙂 Countdown and packing time!

    • I loved those monks in Myanmar, Jo. Thanks for averting your gaze. The crazy thing is, I had to have the driver stop again on the way to the airport! Oh dear. Yes, counting the days, running around getting last minute stuff taken care of. I’m really excited about our trip! 🙂

I'd love hear your comments & start a conversation! :-)

Fairfax County Emergency Information

Official Fairfax County Government Emergency Preparedness, Response and Recovery Website

~ wander.essence ~

where travel meets art

SterVens' Tales

~~~In Case You Didn't Know, I Talk 2 Myself~~~

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Cornwall in Colours

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

Slovenian Girl Abroad

A blog about travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

FabFourBlog

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond